Newsletter: Top Picks for Little Readers

This crop of new titles demonstrates how children’s and teenage narratives are reflecting the urgent issues of the day, the need for diverse voices, and the desire for a bit of escape to tide us over until winter flows into spring.

 

For The Younger Ones:

Islandborn\Islandborn

by Junot Diaz

The Dominican-born Pulitzer-Prize winning writer pens his first children’s story, an ode to family, memory, and the place home has in your heart.

This book is a great way to introduce the brilliant Diaz to a new generation of readers.

 

 

The Pink HatThe Pink Hat

by Andrew Joyner

A celebration of the Women’s Marches and the  5-million (!) people, including children, that participated across America.

Great black and white illustrations (a la the Eloise books) with the pop of bright pink!

 

And for some light humor...
 
Baby Monkey, Private Eye

by Brian Selznick and David Serlin

Favorite author Selznick creates an instantly classic, lovable character, a baby monkey!

It’s quite silly—a perfect antidote to the serious issues of the moment.

 

For Middle Grade:

 

The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1)

by Sayantani DasGupta

Demon slaying abounds in this magical new series filled with winged horses, talking birds, and possible Indian princesses.

For readers of Rick Riordan, Grace Lin, and anyone interested in good fantasy.

 

The Girl with More Than One Heart

by Laura Geringer Bass

A young girl whose father dies of a heart attack is the star of this moving and ultimately uplifting novel.

Navigating the first blush of romance and the insecurities of growing up, her grief takes the form of her father’s voice, and his heart within her own.

 

For Young Adults:

 

SpeakSpeak

by Laurie Halse Anderson

A stunning graphic novel adaptation of an award-winning novel. Speak is a new modern classic about the lessons of speaking up for oneself, while addressing timely issues including sexual assault and what it feels like to be an "outsider".

 

 

Love, Hate and Other Filters

by Samira Ahmed

Torn between two worlds, a Muslim Indian-born teenager in America copes with Islamophobia in this stunning debut novel.

A good choice for book clubs that will give readers a glimpse into a divided world.

 

 

The Astonishing Color of After

by Emily X.R. Pan

Heartily recommended by beloved author John Green comes a beautifully lyrical debut novel about love, grief, and suicide that blends magical realism, Asian culture, and the perils of being an immigrant.

 

Coming to a Theater Near You:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every Day

by David Levithan

Ages 12 & Up

now in theaters!

 

 

 

 

Love, Simon     

Based on Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

by Becky Albertalli

Ages 14 & Up

in theaters March 16th!

 

 

A Wrinkle in Time

A Wrinkle in Time: 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition

by Madeline L’Engle

Ages 10-14

in theaters March 9th!

 

Happy Spring!

See you in the store,

Melanie Fleishman
Children's Book Buyer
BookHampton


Join us for Story Time every Sunday at 10:30am!