Phil Keith with Tom Clavin, "All Blood Runs Red: The Legendary Life of Eugene Bullard-Boxer, Pilot, Soldier, Spy"

“A whale of a tale, told clearly and quickly. I read the entire book in almost one sitting.”—Thomas E. Ricks, New York Times Book Review

For readers of UnbrokenThe Boys in the Boat, and Hidden Figures, All Blood Runs Red is the incredible story of Eugene Bullard, the first African American military pilot, who went on to become a Paris nightclub impresario, a spy in the French Resistance and an American civil rights pioneer.

Eugene Bullard lived one of the most fascinating lives of the twentieth century. The son of a former slave and an indigenous Creek woman, Bullard fled home at the age of eleven to escape the racial hostility of his Georgia community. When his journey led him to Europe, he garnered worldwide fame as a boxer, and later as the first African American fighter pilot in history.

After the war, Bullard returned to Paris a celebrated hero. But little did he know that the dramatic, globe-spanning arc of his life had just begun.

All Blood Runs Red is the inspiring untold story of an American hero, a thought-provoking chronicle of the twentieth century and a portrait of a man who came from nothing and by his own courage, determination, gumption, intelligence and luck forged a legendary life.

 

Phil Keith is the author of six books, including Blackhorse Riders, which won the 2012 award from USA Book News for Best Military Non-Fiction, was a finalist for the 2013 Colby Award, and earned a 2013 silver medal from Military Writers Society of America. He holds a degree in history from Harvard and is a former Navy aviator. During three tours in Vietnam, he served with distinction and was awarded, among other decorations, the Purple Heart, Air Medal, Presidential Unit Citation, and the Navy Commendation Medal.

 

Tom Clavin is the author of 18 nonfiction books and has worked as a newspaper and web site editor, magazine writer, TV and radio commentator, and a reporter for the New York Times covering entertainment, sports, and the environment. His latest book, Dodge City: Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the Wickedest Town in the American West became an immediate New York Times and national bestseller. Three previous books have also been New York Times bestsellers: The Heart of Everything That Is, The Last Stand of Fox Companyand Halsey’s Typhoon.

 

PLEASE REGISTER TO ATTEND

Event date: 
Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 4:00pm EST
Event address: 
BookHampton
41 Main Street
East Hampton, NY 11937
All Blood Runs Red: The Legendary Life of Eugene Bullard-Boxer, Pilot, Soldier, Spy Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335005564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 5th, 2019

$27.99
SKU: s9781335005564