Emma Cline, "The Girls"

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader.

Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Emma Cline was the winner of The Paris Review’s Plimpton Prize in 2014. She is from California.

Please register for this FREE event here.

If you're unable to attend the event and would like a signed copy of The Girls, please purchase the "Signed" version below.

Event date: 
Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
BookHampton
41 Main Street
East Hampton, NY 11937
The Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812998603
Availability: Backordered
Published: Random House - June 14th, 2016