Elegant Woman (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Elegant Woman Cover Image
$44.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


A beautifully written multi-generational saga by National Book Award finalist Martha Mcphee. Drawn from the author’s own family history, An Elegant Women is a story of self-invention that follows four generations of American women for whom the word elegant is an evolving mantra. A sophisticated exploration of the art of social climbing, family legacies, and secrets. Martha Mcphee will be joining our virtual book club discussion on Tuesday, August 4th at 7pm. Click here to register.

— Eve

Description


For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee--ten years in the making--explores one family's story against the sweep of 20th century American history.Drawn from the author's own family history, An Elegant Woman is a story of discovery and reinvention, following four generations of women in one American family. As Isadora, a novelist, and two of her sisters sift through the artifacts of their forebears' lives, trying to decide what to salvage and what to toss, the narrative shifts to a winter day in 1910 at a train station in Ohio. Two girls wait in the winter cold with their mother--the mercurial Glenna Stewart--to depart for a new life in the West. As Glenna campaigns in Montana for women's suffrage and teaches in one-room schoolhouses, Tommy takes care of her little sister, Katherine: trapping animals, begging, keeping house, cooking, while Katherine goes to school. When Katherine graduates, Tommy makes a decision that will change the course of both of their lives. A profound meditation on memory, history, and legacy, An Elegant Woman follows one woman over the course of the 20th century, taking the reader from a drought-stricken farm in Montana to a yellow Victorian in Maine; from the halls of a psychiatric hospital in London to a wedding gown fitting at Bergdorf Goodman; from a house in small town Ohio to a family reunion at a sweltering New Jersey pig roast. Framed by Isadora's efforts to retell her grandmother's journey--and understand her own--the novel is an evocative exploration of the stories we tell ourselves, and what we leave out.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797109930
ISBN-10: 1797109936
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020
Language: English