A Good Day to Pie (A Pies Before Guys Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

A Good Day to Pie (A Pies Before Guys Mystery #2) By Misha Popp Cover Image
$28.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Pies Before Guys Mystery series.

Description


Competitive baking takes a murderous turn in Misha Popp’s “decadent and addicting” (Melissa Bourbon) second Pies Before Guys cozy mystery—oven-ready for fans of Ellery Adams and Mary Maxwell.

Everyone loves a good pie. But how about a pie that’s as deadly as it is delectable?
 
 
Daisy bakes a little murder into every pie she creates, and she and her dog, Zoe, deliver them to the town’s worst cads. Now, Daisy’s entered a televised, elimination-style competition and has a shot at $100k in prize money—but she still has a murder pie to deliver between filming.
 
In a completely unexpected turn of events, she discovers that her intended victim is one of the competition judges, and he turns up dead before the pie even arrives. Now, Daisy has to solve the murder—even if it means working a bit of magic—before someone calls foul play and exposes her murderous secret.
 
For anyone who’s ever fantasized about the world of competitive baking à la the Great British Bake Off—or has ever dreamed of getting back at that guy who wronged them years ago Popp's culinary cozy series is as alluring as a perfectly baked pie, this edgy yet utterly charming novel takes the idea of “a dessert to die for” to a whole new level.
 

About the Author


Misha Popp enjoys writing about murdery women and over-the-top baked goods, but not so much about herself. She lives in rural Massachusetts where she bakes entirely too many pies and sculpts things out of chocolate. An unrepentant school nerd, she has a collection of degrees that have nothing to do with the jobs that pay her.

Praise For…


Praise for A Good Day to Pie:
“[A] fun premise and the in-depth descriptions of food . . . round out a volume sure to please culinary cozy fans.”
Publishers Weekly

“A plethora of suspects and scrumptiously detailed descriptions of each contestant’s entries will wow foodies.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of the Great British Baking Show and other elimination-style culinary competitions will eat this up.”
Library Journal, audiobook review

“Misha Popp's culinary cozy mystery novel takes the idea of "a dessert to die for" to a whole new level . . . A fun and riveting read from cover to cover.” 
Midwest Book Review

“A charming feel-good read that is inclusive and empowering . . . [It] strikes the perfect balance with the magical and murder elements.”
Seattle Book Review, 5-star review

“Fans of magic, and fun, quirky, small town characters will like this novel.”
Red Carpet Crash

Praise for Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies:

“Darkly humorous . . . Cozy readers looking for something different will find much to like.”
Publishers Weekly

“An exciting debut that has you rooting for a morally conflicted witch while salivating over her pies.”
Kirkus

“The rapid pacing and tantalizing plot will keep [readers] engrossed in this strong debut.”
Booklist

“Utterly original . . . a deliciously charming story filled with female empowerment, humor, women helping women, and lots of tasty pies.”
San Francisco Book Review, 5-star review

“Magical, decadent, and addicting! Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies is a breath of fresh air, and Daisy Ellery is a heroine worth rooting for. Honey Crunch Apple pie is my new favorite thing!”
—Melissa Bourbon, national bestselling author of the Magical Dressmaking mysteries

“Take a cup of Promising Young Woman, stir in a tablespoon of Like Water for Chocolate, add a dash of Arsenic and Old Lace, then bake with knife-edge wit and keen dialog and you get Misha Popp's darkly funny whodunit. Revenge fantasy meets magical realism meets edgy culinary cozy. Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies gives new meaning to ‘dessert to die for.’”
—Alexia Gordon, award-winning author of The Gethsemane Brown Mysteries

“Daisy Ellery puts a little vinegar in her pie crusts, and Misha Popp has added a drop to her cozy debut. Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies is as sassy as it’s sweet and as fierce as it’s fun. Add a clever plot and a budding romance and this series opener is a slice of heaven. Seconds, please!”
—Catriona McPherson, multi-award-winning author of the Last Ditch Motel mysteries


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639102327
ISBN-10: 1639102329
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 7th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Pies Before Guys Mystery