Vengeance (Compact Disc)

Vengeance Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Hard to Find

August 2012 Indie Next List

“If you haven't yet discovered Benjamin Black (a.k.a. John Banville) and his marvelous creation, Dr. Quirke, then you are missing some first-rate writing and entertainment. Vengeance is the fourth in a series set in Dublin in the late 1950s featuring the good doctor, a somewhat grumpy pathologist, and his drinking and sleuthing companion Inspector Detective Hackett. Quirke is a flawed man of many weaknesses, yet he manages to be in a state of permanent self-deprecation that he takes as a sign of virtue, and that makes him an irresistible and believable character.”
— Darwin Ellis, Books on the Common, Ridgefield, CT


In "Vengeance, "a bizarre suicide leads to a scandal and then still more blood, as Benjamin Black reveals a world where money and sex trump everything.

It's a fine day for a sail, and Victor Delahaye, one of Ireland's most successful businessmen, takes his boat far out to sea. With him is his partner's son who becomes the sole witness when Delahaye produces a pistol, points it at his own chest, and fires.

This mysterious death immediately engages the attention of Detective Inspector Hackett, who in turn calls upon the services of his sometime partner Quirke, consultant pathologist at the Hospital of the Holy Family. The stakes are high: Delahaye's prominence in business circles means that Hackett and Quirke must proceed very carefully. Among others, they interview Mona Delahaye, the dead man's young and very beautiful wife; James and Jonas Delahaye, his identical twin sons; and Jack Clancy, his ambitious, womanizing partner. But then a second death occurs, this one even more shocking than the first, and quickly it becomes apparent that a terrible secret threatens to destroy the lives and reputations of several members of Dublin's elite.

Why did Victor Delahaye kill himself, and who is intent upon wreaking vengeance on so many of those who knew him?

About the Author

Benjamin Black is the pen name of the Man Booker Prize-winning novelist John Banville. The author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed series of Quirke novels "Christine Falls," "The Silver Swan," "Elegy for April," and "A Death in Summer" he lives in Dublin."

Praise For…

“With his soft Irish accent, Keating seemed to be doing something beyond merely reading aloud – without showiness or bluster, he seemed to be sending the story directly into my head.” – John Schwartz, The New York Times Book Review

“Narrator John Keating does an equally good job with Irish accents that make subtle distinctions among the characters.” – Sound Commentary

“Keating’s melodic narration…could make a Bono lyric sound like a poem by Seamus Heaney.” – Mystery Scene Magazine

“Narrator John Keating does not disappoint. As a returning performer in this series, he has become the voice of Quirke, Hackett, and all the regular characters in the series. He folds in the new characters with masterful agility…Keating can also breathe life into Quirke’s haunts until the listener can almost taste the whiskey fumes. Keating is not simply a reader but a true audio artisan.” – Reviewing the Evidence

“Black switches his point of view from one character to another, but the genuine Irish lilt to the book’s dialogue, characters and setting gives it a voice that feels real and true. It’s certainly read that way by the talented John Keating.” – Winston-Salem Journal


Praise for the print edition of Vengeance:

"Propulsive… [Vengeance] will keep you turning pages."—The Los Angeles Times

"Gorgeously composed crime novels." —Entertainment Weekly

"Readers with a literary bent who prefer stylish prose and fully-realized characters are in the right hands with Black… Throughout [Vengeance], Black’s prose is vividly rendered, almost painterly in its detail."—The Boston Globe

"Sly, engaging… The stylish mystery of Vengeance unravels in an Ireland where the Catholic Church and its traditions hold a firm grip. Black introduces us to a fascinating, finely drawn group of suspects." —Shelf Awareness

"A provocative whydunit…Superior prose…and subtle mystery ensure another winner for Black."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Tautly paced… [Black’s] new book is the best to date. Detective Inspector Hackett is back, his Irish country charm belying his keen mind, along with Quirke, a broody pathologist who always manages to fall off the wagon and bed a prime suspect."—Library Journal

"Black is in superbly crafty form…[He] keeps the plot sleek as his gleaming prose sails across the page as swiftly as the yachts owned by the wealthy victims in his latest tale of mannerly murder among the Irish elite… A seductively moody and shrewdly damning tale of privilege, arrogance, vengeance, and a touch of madness."—Booklist

"Black is in fine fettle, as usual; his prose harkens back to an earlier time, when the English language was to be savored. He develops a plot with the best of them, and his characters are finely drawn and challenging."—Bookpage

"Quirke remains a compelling mystery, perhaps to himself most of all… Along the way, there’s the pleasure of Black’s prose." —Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781427221421
ISBN-10: 1427221421
Publisher: MacMillan Audio
Publication Date: August 7th, 2012
Language: English