Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy Cover Image
$19.99
Not Yet Published

Description


Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, and The Black Friend, this urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.

Why are white supremacists still openly marching in the United States? Why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages? Where did racism come from? Why hasn’t it already disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Rise Up! breaks down the origins of racial injustice and its continued impact today, connecting dots between the past and present. By including contemporary examples ripped from headlines and actionable ways young people can help create a more inclusive world, sociologist Crystal Fleming shares the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists: compassion, solidarity, respect, and courage in the face of adversity.

About the Author


Dr. Crystal M. Fleming is an award-winning sociologist and writer. She is Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies at Stony Brook University. Crystal completed her Ph.D. at Harvard University and has published scholarly research on racial oppression and anti-racism. She is the author of an academic book on race and white supremacy in France, as well as the critically acclaimed How to Be Less Stupid about Race: On Racism, White Supremacy and the Racial Divide. Fleming has published articles in Newsweek, The Root, Huffington Post, and more. Follow her on Twitter!

Praise For…


Praise for How to Be Less Stupid About Race

* “A crash course in what will be a radically new perspective.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A]n insightful and irreverent text . . . her work is truly accessible; she breaks down complex concepts and constructs arguments effectively in jocular, witty prose.” —Publishers Weekly

“Exceptionally well written, organized and presented.” —Midwest Book Review

“Fleming’s strength is her expertise as a sociologist . . . she wields her data like a sword, shredding racist nonsense.” —The Christian Century



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250226389
ISBN-10: 1250226384
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: October 5th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English