First Position (Paperback)

First Position By Melanie Hamrick Cover Image
$17.00
Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
2 on hand, as of Apr 22 9:09am
(FICTION PAPERBACK)

Description


A dancer’s fall from grace ignites a dark ambition in this propulsive novel about the seductive, cutthroat world of professional ballet by debut author Melanie Hamrick.

Five years into her career at the North American Ballet, Sylvie Carter has come a long way from the girl she once was—the young, driven ballerina who dutifully kept a list of rules for how to succeed. But as her star in the company rises, every rule gets broken and she becomes a version of herself she no longer recognizes.  When a tumultuous, troubling relationship erupts into a devastating scandal for which she alone is blamed, she loses everything. Her reputation is destroyed, her best friend is now her fiercest rival, and the dream she’s worked for her entire life—becoming a prima ballerina—will never be realized. She vows not to ever make the same mistake again.

But when renowned dancer Alessandro Russo joins NAB as a guest artist for the season, Sylvie is magnetically drawn to him. Torn between fear and attraction, she finds herself mentally unraveling but also artistically blossoming as she taps into emotions she’d buried long ago. Caught in a bewildering spiral, she can either let the wounds of the past destroy her or find a way to be reborn.

About the Author


Melanie Hamrick is a mother, ballerina, producer, choreographer, and writer. Born and raised in Virginia, Melanie began dancing at a young age. Her career as a ballerina spanned over sixteen years with American Ballet Theatre. From traveling the world with her family and work, Melanie has always carried novels and notebooks with her. Her passion for reading and dance inspired her to write her first novel First Positon.

Praise For…


"Addictive. Hamrick weaves a fascinating portrait of the darkness behind the curtain in professional ballet. Perfect for fans of Black Swan or those who love forbidden romance."—Emma Noyes, author of Guy’s Girl

"Addictively racy"—Daily Mail

"Hamrick makes her debut with this erotic novel that pulses with Black Swan energy...Hamrick offers up a thrilling meditation on the tension between love, desire, and art by combining the artistry of The Red Shoes with the eroticism of Fifty Shades of Grey."—Entertainment Weekly

“Emotional and enthralling.”—Woman’s World


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593638149
ISBN-10: 059363814X
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 20th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English