Gears of War: Aspho Fields (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Gears of War: Aspho Fields By Karen Traviss Cover Image
Email or call for price

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Gears of War series.

Staff Reviews

For me, Aspho Fields was a terrific novel that gave insight into the motivations of these great characters. Gears can be easily dismissed as gruff, militaristic, and boy-centric. Traviss breathed detail into the minds of not only the men, but gave identity to the women who we get to see in the games. To see Marcus as a young man growing up with Dom is in a way, heartbreaking.

— Jesse


A New York Times bestseller! In the first of three official tie-in novels to the hugely successful videogame from Microsoft and Epic Games, the last human survivors of a vicious alien attack fight a pivotal battle for the fate of mankind.

As kids, the three of them were inseparable; as soldiers, they would be torn apart. Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago fought alongside Dom’s elder brother Carlos at Aspho Fields in the epic battle that changed the course of the Pendulum Wars. There’s a new war to fight now, a war for mankind’s very survival. But while the last human stronghold on Sera braces itself for another onslaught from the Locust Horde, ghosts come back to haunt Marcus and Dom. For Marcus—decorated war hero, convicted traitor—the return of an old comrade threatens to dredge up an agonizing secret he’s sworn to keep.

As the beleaguered Gears of the Coalition of Ordered Governments take a last stand to save mankind from extermination, the harrowing decisions made at Aspho Fields have to be relived and made again. Marcus and Dom can take anything the Locust Horde throws at them—but will their friendship survive the truth about Carlos Santiago?

About the Author

Karen Traviss is a science fiction author and full-time novelist from Wiltshire, England. Originally from the Portsmouth area, Traviss is a graduate of the Clarion science fiction and fantasy workshop. Her first published novels include City of Pearl and its five sequels: Crossing the Line, The World Before, Matriarch, Ally, and Judge.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780345499431
ISBN-10: 0345499433
Publisher: Random House Worlds
Publication Date: October 28th, 2008
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Gears of War