Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network (Paperback)

Sisters of the Resistance: A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves; Typically Ships in 1 - 2 Days
3 on hand, as of Sep 22 10:18am
(FICTION PAPERBACK)

Description


One of PopSugar's Best Books of June!

Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini.

"As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France...” —Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret

Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict—unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. 

Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. 

Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine’s terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.

About the Author


Christine Wells writes historical fiction featuring strong, fascinating women. From early childhood, she drank in her father’s tales about the real kings and queens behind popular nursery rhymes and she has been a keen student of history ever since. She began her first novel while working as a corporate lawyer, and has gone on to write about periods ranging from Georgian England to post World War II France. Christine is passionate about helping other writers learn the craft and business of writing fiction and enjoys mentoring and teaching workshops whenever her schedule permits. She loves dogs, running, the beach and fossicking for antiques and lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.

 

To keep up with news and special offers, please join Christine’s mailing list: https://tinyurl.com/y4ktw9g2

Praise For…


"Sisters of the Resistance had me enthralled from the first page right up until its breathtaking conclusion. An enthralling tale of courage, resistance and love – Christine Wells has penned one of the sure-fire hits of 2021."
— Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

"As dazzling as a Dior gown! Sisters of the Resistance tells the fascinating story of two sisters working with Catherine Dior and the French Resistance during WWII. With a gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France...”
— Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Secret

"Christine Wells' Sisters of the Resistance shifts effortlessly between the desperation of the final months of World War II to the glamour of Dior's post-war collection in this page-turner. Based on Catherine Dior's real-life resistance movement, this is a powerful story of the impact women have had on history."
— Stephanie Marie Thornton, USA Today bestselling author of And They Called It Camelot

“A beautiful homage to the strength and resilience of women spies during the Second World War, Christine Wells’ Sisters of the Resistance is that rare jewel of a WWII novel that surprises as much as it delights.”
— Bryn Turnbull, international bestselling author of The Woman Before Wallis 

Sisters of the Resistance has it all! A richly researched historical novel filled with the glamor of the 1940s fashion world, page-turning suspense and romance, all wrapped around a cast of courageous and unforgettable women... I was under the spell of this novel from page one!”
— Renee Rosen, bestselling author of Park Avenue Summer

"Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells is a breathless rollercoaster of love, suspense and danger – and all spiced with the timeless glamour of the launch of Christian Dior's New Look. This story...will have you turning the pages at light speed!"
— Anna Campbell, award-winning author

“Brimming with danger, adventure, and Dior, Sisters of the Resistance kept me guessing to the end. This story of two sisters working for the French resistance beautifully explores the vast gray area between right and wrong, love and hate—no one gets off easily, and no triumph is without cost.”
— Kerri Maher, author of The Girl in White Gloves

"Beautiful and compelling, Christine Wells’ Sisters of the Resistance skillfully weaves a story of ordinary women rising against the Nazis in the harrowing, final days of World War II Paris... Full of nuanced characters, remarkable bravery, and surprises, the pages of this novel all but turn themselves. A must read!"
— Kristin Beck, author of Courage, My Love

"The book has it all: high fashion, spies, romance, loss, healing, mystery, sisterhood, friendship, and strong female protagonists...It is a fast-paced, well-told story that transports the reader to a memorable time in world history."
— Historical Novel Society

Sisters of the Resistance is a page-turning emotional foray into the last few months of the German occupation and the war itself...the incredible true story of Catherine Dior's involvement in the Resistance brings out the reality of what the French accomplished behind the scenes. Don't miss this incredible novel.”
— Romance Reviews Today

"Through her depiction of these brave and resilient young women, Wells pays homage to the inspiring female resistance fighters of World War II. Set against a lavish Parisian backdrop, Sisters of the Resistance offers readers both a compelling wartime narrative as well as a dazzling look at the glamorous French fashion world of the 1940s. Fashion, Paris and heroism … what’s not to love?"
— Better Reading


Product Details
ISBN: 9780063055445
ISBN-10: 0063055449
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 416
Language: English